Hello everyone, just a quick note to wish you all a Merry Christmas! Hope you all got some cracking presents and had a great time with family and friends. There are some top quality animations on television over this period, too, so keep an eye on listings (if you missed How To Train Your Dragon then you are a fool). So enjoy the rest of this festive period and I hope your 2013 gets off to a great start.

This is also a way of explaining my absence on here for the past few weeks. Unfortunately being a student as well as a film buff means that sometimes cinema has to take the backseat whilst exams happen. December has been so hectic for me, and a trip home has also given me little time for writing. I wasn’t even able to see Tinkerbell and the Secret of the Wings, which @PaulEGreenwood says is actually pretty good, so there’s your review for that. But hey, it’s December, so what are you doing reading my blog anyway? You could be having snow ball fights and sledging and stuff. Or if, like me, you live in the UK, you should probably just stay indoors as long as possible. So yeah, I guess you might have wanted to read the blog.

Anyway, there’s lots coming up so don’t lose faith in my blog! Before the year is out, I should have my Live Action Film of the Month for December online (sorry about the lack of one for November, it was Elena by Andrei Zvyagintsev for those who were wondering). I’ll also do my summary of the year, saying what my favourite animations were, which live action films I loved the most, and maybe I’ll make up some of my own categories too. Then 2013 has A LOT in store for the blog. Dreamworks start their three a year plan, Disney bring out Wreck-It-Ralph and there should hopefully be some delightful 2D animation, too. I still haven’t seen Ernest et Celestine. Not only that, but there will be regular doses of Weekend Shorts and retrospectives, a new series of guest columns and a very exciting project that will kick off in the first week of 2013. You’ll hear more about that in the near future.

So the blog IS still happening, it just had a wee hiatus whilst the other half of my dual life took over for a while. Rest assured, however, 2013 is going to be a big year.

